October 5-13, 2019

EASTERN TOWNSHIPS, QUEBEC, CANADA
Knowlton (Lac-Brome), Mansonville, Waterloo

Why the Eastern Townships?


Natural Setting
The Eastern Townships region provides the ideal location to launch Celtic Harmonies International Festival because of its breathtaking mountains, magnificent forests and beautiful lakes; and the million stars one can see at night.

Our prime objective is to welcome visitors in a natural setting that inspires well-being. The site should be a place where people can meet, talk and relax, and where they can feel at one with nature.

Celtic Roots
The Eastern Townships is a collection of small close-knit communities which have deep Celtic roots. At one point in the 1900s there were well over 12,000 Gaelic Scots from the Isle of Lewis living in the Eastern Townships; place names still exist today recalling those inhabitants. From 1880-1920, the Eastern Townships had the second highest number of Gaelic speakers in Canada and it was the third unofficial language.

Also, the province of Quebec in general is the perfect location for a truly Celtic Festival* because of its history and the particular combination of Irish, Scottish and Breton roots found here. Over 40% of Quebecers have Irish roots. In fact, Montreal’s flag bears four emblems, each representing the principal ethnic origins of the population in the 19th century: the French, the English, the Scots and the Irish.

* as opposed to Celtic festivals in the US that tend to focus only on the Irish and the Scots.

The Presence of Both French and English Communities
Celtic music brings together both French and English Canadians to share their common historical roots.

The traditional music of Québec and the rest of Canada developed from the music brought over by the Breton, Irish, Scots and French.

Vibrant Artistic Community
The Eastern Townships has a vibrant artistic community which we hope will contribute to the daytime activities focussed on celebrating nature through art.

Intimate Venues
Celtic music is best appreciated in smaller intimate venues of which there are many in the Eastern Townships, including beautiful old churches.

Proximity to the US Border
The Eastern Townships region is easily accessible from the Northeastern States where a significant proportion of their population is of Irish descent, and therefore a prime market for this festival. (For example, Montreal sees a large influx of Irish from Boston for their St. Patrick’s Day Parade)

5 au 13 octobre 2019

CANTONS-DE-L'EST, QUÉBEC, CANADA
Knowlton (Lac-Brome), Mansonville, Waterloo

Pourquoi les Cantons de l’Est?


Cadre naturel
Les Cantons de l’Est sont une région idéale pour lancer le Festival international Harmonies Celtiques – en raison de leurs montagnes majestueuses, de leurs vastes forêts, de leurs lacs miroitants… et des millions d’étoiles qui y scintillent, la nuit.

Notre principal objectif est d’accueillir les visiteurs dans un cadre naturel qui inspire le bien-être. Il faut que le lieu permette aux gens de se rencontrer, de discuter et de se détendre, et d’être en harmonie avec la nature.

Origines celtiques
Les Cantons de l’Est abritent un ensemble de petites collectivités très unies qui possèdent de profondes racines celtiques. Au début du 20e siècle, la région comptait plus de 12 000 Écossais de l’île de Lewis – qui ont laissé leur nom à beaucoup de lieux. De 1880 à 1920, les Cantons de l’Est comptaient la deuxième population en importance au Canada parlant encore le gaélique, devenu la troisième langue non officielle.

Le Québec est l’endroit idéal pour tenir un festival celtique authentique*, en raison de son histoire et de la présence unique de descendants irlandais, écossais et bretons. Plus de 40 % des Québécois ont des ancêtres irlandais. Le drapeau de la ville de Montréal comporte quatre emblèmes représentant les principales ethnies composant la population montréalaise au 19e siècle : les Français, les Anglais, les Écossais et les Irlandais.

* Contrairement aux festivals celtiques américains, qui tendent à ne faire valoir que la culture irlandaise et écossaise.

La présence simultanée de collectivités francophones et anglophones
La musique celtique rassemble francophones et anglophones du Canada pour célébrer leurs origines historiques communes.

La musique traditionnelle du Québec et du reste du Canada a son origine dans la musique des immigrants bretons, irlandais, écossais et français.

Une collectivité artistique dynamique
Les Cantons de l’Est abritent une colonie artistique dynamique qui, nous l’espérons, contribuera aux activités de jour axées sur la célébration de la nature par l’art.

Des lieux intimes
La musique celtique convient bien aux lieux intimes, et ils sont nombreux en Estrie. La région compte notamment de charmantes vieilles églises.

Proximité de la frontière américaine
Les Cantons de l’Est sont facilement accessibles des États du nord-est des États-Unis. Une bonne partie de la population est d’origine irlandaise et constitue un marché privilégié pour le festival. (Ainsi Montréal accueille-t-il un grand nombre d’Irlandais de Boston pour le défilé de la Saint-Patrick.)